Sunday, January 17, 2010

Windows Server 2008

Windows Server 2008

Windows Server 2008 is one of Microsoft Windows' server line of operating systems. Released to manufacturing on February 4, 2008, and officially released on February 27, 2008, it is the successor to Windows Server 2003, released nearly five years earlier. A second release, named Windows Server 2008 R2, was released to manufacturing on July 22, 2009.[3] Like Windows Vista and Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 is built on Windows NT 6.x.


Windows Server 2008 is built from the same code base as Windows Vista; therefore, it shares much of the same architecture and functionality. Since the code base is common, it automatically comes with most of the technical, security, management and administrative features new to Windows Vista such as the rewritten networking stack (native IPv6, native wireless, speed and security improvements); improved image-based installation, deployment and recovery; improved diagnostics, monitoring, event logging and reporting tools; new security features such as BitLocker and ASLR; improved Windows Firewall with secure default configuration; .NET Framework 3.0 technologies, specifically Windows Communication Foundation, Microsoft Message Queuing and Windows Workflow Foundation; and the core kernel, memory and file system improvements. Processors and memory devices are modelled as Plug and Play devices, to allow hot-plugging of these devices. This allows the system resources to be partitioned dynamically using Dynamic Hardware Partitioning; each partition has its own memory, processor and I/O host bridge devices independent of other partitions.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Artificial Intelligence a Modern Approach

Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach (ISBN 0-13-790395-2) (AIMA) is a college textbook on Artificial Intelligence, written by Stuart J. Russell and Peter Norvig. The second edition of the book was released on December 20, 2002. It is used in over 1000 universities worldwide.[1]

The book is intended for an undergraduate audience but can also be used for graduate-level studies with the suggestion of adding some of the primary sources listed in the extensive bibliography.


Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach is divided into eight parts with a total of 27 chapters. The authors state that it is a large text which would take two semesters to cover all the chapters and projects.

  • Part I: Artificial Intelligence - Sets the stage for the following sections by viewing AI systems as intelligent agents that can decide what actions to take and when to take them.
  • Part II: Problem Solving - Focuses on methods for deciding what action to take when needing to think several steps ahead such as playing a game of chess.
  • Part III: Knowledge and Reasoning - Discusses ways to represent knowledge about the intelligent agents' environment and how to reason logically with that knowledge.
  • Part IV: Acting Logically - Concentrates on constructing plans using the reasoning methods discussed in the previous section.
  • Part V: Uncertain Knowledge and Reasoning - This section is analogous to Parts III and IV but deals with reasoning and decision-making in the presence of uncertainty in the environment.
  • Part VI: Learning - Describes ways for generating knowledge required by the decision-making components and introduces a new component the neural network.
  • Part VII: Communicating Perceiving - Concentrates on ways an intelligent agent can perceive its environment whether by touch vision.
  • Part VIII: Conclusions - Considers the past and future of AI by discussing what AI really is and why it has succeeded to some degree. Also the views of those philosophers who believe that AI can never succeed are given discussion.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

CISSP Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, 4th edition

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0071497870

ISBN-13: 978-0071497879

Fully revised for the latest exam release, this authoritative volume offers thorough coverage of all the material on the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) exam. Written by a renowned security expert and CISSP, this guide features complete details on all 10 exam domains developed by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC²). Inside, you?ll find learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, practice questions, and in-depth explanations. CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Fourth Edition will not only help you pass the test, but also be your essential on-the-job reference.

Covers all 10 subject areas on the exam:

Access control
Application security
Business continuity and disaster recovery planning
Information security and risk management
Legal, regulations, compliance, and investigations
Operations security
Physical (environmental) security
Security architecture and design
Telecommunications and network security